News & Press Releases
For Immediate Release

Story Photo
Monday, July 11th, 2016
2016 Art Festival Winners Announced

The 47th Annual Rockport Art Festival was a great place to be 4th of July weekend!  Our usual warm weather was offset by a consistent breeze which helped to take the edge off.  Jurors Pamela Fulcher, photographer and local artist, and Anita Diebel, owner of Windway Gallery and former Director of Visual Arts for the RCA, had the difficult task of  selecting this year's winners.  "Best of Show" honors went to Frank Thompson, a glass artist based in Lake Charles LA who creates colorful wall art of glass and metal.
Other "Best of Category" ($100) winners:
  • Ceramics:  Janice Joplin (San Antonio, TX) 
  • Glass:  Eric Mort  (Austin, TX) 
  • Jewelry:  Zeke & Marty Zewick  (Edom, TX)
  • Mixed Media:  Betty Jameson  (Austin, TX)    
  • Other:  Anne Gaines  (Richmond, TX)  
  • Painting:  Virginia Vaughan  (Round Rock, TX)
  • Pastel/Drawing:  C. J. Bradford  (Flower Mound, TX)
  • Photography:  Tim Herschbach  (Pearland, TX)
  • Sculpture:  Dennis Gregory  (Katy, TX)  
  • Wood:  Gene Cody  (Austin, TX)
Check out pictures of the winners HERE!